Who Needs a License to Practice Interior Design in Louisiana?
The Louisiana law defines the practice of Interior Design as working in a code-based commercial environment. A commercial setting can include offices, retail, banks, hospitals, schools and other commercial/public buildings. Codes and statutes require building design professionals to be licensed to perform work in a commercial space to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public. Knowledgeable licensed interior designers, in coordination with engineers, architects and other specialized professionals, administer the fire and building codes, accessibility, health and egress regulations within the interior environments.
Because building codes are always evolving, it is required that professional knowledge be updated through continuing education.
It is also highly recommended that designers doing work in a residential environment seek a license to practice Interior Design.
Steps to Become a Louisiana Registered Interior Designer:
- EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE: Have a combination of 6 years of Interior Design education and work experience from one of the following paths:
- is a graduate from an interior design program of five years or more and has completed one year of interior design experience
- is a graduate from an interior design program of four years or more and has completed two years of interior design experience
- has completed at least three years in an interior design curriculum and has completed three years of interior design experience
- is a graduate from an interior design program of at least two years and has completed four years of interior design experience
All such education shall have been obtained in a program, school, or college of interior design accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA). Unaccredited program, school, or college of interior design must be approved by the board during the licensing application process.
- EXAMINATION: Take and pass all three sections of the NCIDQ (National Council for Interior Designer Qualification) exam.
- APPLY TO BECOME A LOUISIANA REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER: Submit the provided application along with the $150 licensing fee. The Registration is valid for the calendar year and must be renewed annually. The continuing education requirement is five (5) hours of Board approved HSW (Health, Safety, and Welfare) annually. Full time educators in the interior design programs at a Louisiana university or college must maintain the 5-hour CEU requirement, but licensing fees are waived.
Louisiana Interior Design Rules and Regulations: RULES AND REGULATIONS
Interior Design Statute: INTERIOR DESIGN STATUTE
Louisiana Registered Interior Designer application: REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER APPLICATION
CIDA’s website: https://accredit-id.org/
NCIDQ’s website: https://www.cidq.org/